Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Preview
4

Braised lettuce & bean stew with wild garlic 'capers'

Come into the greenhouse and let's cook this one pan, mostly-veggie dish. It's Springtime in a bowl.
4

Welcome to the greenhouse!

Finally, I have something resembling a cooking space in my new greenhouse (It’s a Rhino greenhouse, since you ask. They gave it me. Can you believe it? I love it. Wondering where I can squeeze a desk and a bed and just move in.)

And welcome to the start of the lettuce glut too

From now until October, the lettuces will crop without pause if I get my sowing schedule right. And lettuces are for so much more than just salad. Let’s start with braising…

Braised lettuce & bean stew with wild garlic ‘capers’

This dish is endlessly adaptable and can be made with any sort of beans and whatever herbs and greens you have to hand. But make sure the lettuce remains centre stage – their gently buttery flavour when braised is pure Springtime and deserves our full attention.

Serves 2

  • 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

  • 1 leek, finely sliced

  • 500ml chicken stock

  • 2 small hearted lettuces, cut into wedges

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Tales from the Veg Patch by Kathy Slack to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.